Singing for joy and good health!

Suzanne blowing balloons to strengthen her lung capacity

I took singing lessons at the age of 72 (16 years ago), and was told I had to increase the capacity of my lungs by blowing balloons daily. So I blew about three balloons, two times a day, on the average.  You have to blow till it is large enough, but not too much that it bursts. Those days, I used to get a supply of balloons from Beijing, which seemed stronger than the ones made here.

This exercise helped increase the strength and volume of my voice, which my voice teacher categorized as ‘timbre’.

I am happy to sing along with the choir at church – and though I am the most senior in age amongst the members of the two different choir groups I am part of – when we are singing, we are all tuned into the same happy wave length. I sometimes sing solo at church or upon request at special social gatherings, which I totally enjoy as it gives me the chance to share my God-given gift with others.

Suzanne amidst a sea of happy faces – part of the church choir at Christmas

At the same time, so say the researchers, singing brings about positive vibes to one’s health system.

It is all about bringing more oxygen into the lungs while exhaling carbon dioxide, which in turn leads to increased alertness and linked to better overall health.…. Perhaps you should read more about it by clicking here.

The article also quotes one singing coach on the subject of singing: “It is almost indescribable…..it’s an incredible endorphin rush…you feel like you have a spring in your step….”  That is probably how all singers, amateurs or otherwise, feel after singing their hearts out.

In another article about Singing to Your Health, it tells more about how singing helps to improve the health in different ways… please click here to read more on this subject. 

The above-mentioned article also mentions that singing contributes to keeping asthma at bay – much like balloon blowing does. I am sure both activities have been helpful in some way, towards keeping my occasional asthma under control – of course, in my case, I practise deep breathing and do my finger yoga (Mudras) exercises on a daily basis as well (more on Mudras in a different post).

If interested to read more about how balloon-blowing is beneficial for health, please click on the following links: Balloon blowing and health and Lung exercises with balloons.

So my motto is: It is never too late to sing or to exercise – here’s to improving our health, the fun and happy way!

Amen

Leave a Reply

